Adventure in Philadelphia Part 1

Posted: 28 January 2017 in Travel
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

20170124_172006.jpg

What better time to go on vacation than when you have a forced week off. When I got hired for my job, it was under the impression that I was a permanent employee. My boss thought I was permanent as well, but according to HR I was only seasonal. So now I am forced to have a week off, but worry not as I am back to work again on Monday.

Since we had the time, we decided to use it to travel. Neither one of us had been to Philadelphia, so we decided to go there for a few days. We are both big procrastinators and hugely indecisive, but this time I made sure we weren’t. I looked up bus tickets right away on Wanderu and found cheap bus tickets from Megabus. Two tickets with seat reservations (which cost differently depending on which seats you select) and the processing fee only came out to $26 (compared with Amtrak for $96). And it only took a little over 2 hours to get there.

The biggest thing I did differently this time than most my other trips was with the hotel. That’s right, a hotel. Not a hostel. We checked out hostels, but the prices were fairly comparable so we went with the hotel. We booked on Hotels.com, which was simple enough. Something to note is that you cannot cancel once you book with them. So be mindful of that. We stayed at the Days Inn. It was ok. The room was nice, the bed comfortable, nothing naughty on the tv, and it was close to the main touristy places. A few things weren’t ideal. The continental breakfast was terrible. I’ve had better breakfasts at hostels. The hotel is also right next to a homeless shelter and hospice. They homeless men didn’t talk to us at all, but there were lots of them in the area.

Now that that’s out of the way, let me get to the important stuff: what to see and do!!!

Day One

We arrived in Philadelphia shortly after 11am and the weather was miserable. Right next to the stop was La Colombe, a coffee shop. So we went inside to orient ourselves and get a coffee. The ones we got in NYC before we left were terrible, but this one was fantastic.

Once we found our hotel, I took a quick nap (as I was sick) before we headed out for lunch. We looked on Groupon and found some food deals (will save you lots of money!!!) and bought a deal for St. Stephens Green. We LOVED it! The food was amazing, the place was comfortable, and staff friendly. I had the Cottage Pie and Jeffry had the Irish Bacon Grilled Cheese. We had a issue with our groupon, and they were understanding (probably because I wasn’t an asshole) and fixed the problem in our favour. I ended up needing to go find an ATM so I could give the lady a nice tip. I highly recommend eating here.

16251639_10154951237806310_486537417484179857_o

Philadelphia LDS Temple

Given that I am mormon, noticing mormon edifices are hard for me to miss. Such as the LDS Temple. We were walking to the restaurant when I noticed it. After lunch, we made a special detour on our way back so I could get a picture of it. Such a beautiful building.

Once we made it back to central Philly, we took another little detour to look at some buildings. The first one we saw was the City Hall. It is beautiful. The square shaped building has a courtyard in the middle, a tower, and up until 1987 was the tallest structure in Philadelphia.

We walked through the courtyard, around the building and back up Broad street. Right across the street from the City Hall are two beautiful churches: the Masonic Temple and the Arch Street United Methodist Church. It was too late to go into either of them (as well as the equally beautiful Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts).20170124_172014

Since it was already pretty dark and I was still not feeling the best, we headed back to the hotel . We rested and figured out what to do for dinner. We opted with another groupon for a place called Phoebe’s Bar-B-Q.  Due to being unclear, we ordered online and walked to pick it up.There we learned that what they actually meant was only in store ordering applied. So it was a waste of a purchase as we had to pay a second time. Then we got back to the hotel and discovered that food was dry and really not that good. Could have been for a few reasons, but needless to say, we ended up giving the majority of it to the hotel staff and got a refund for the groupon. Really disappointing.

Despite being a very chilly and wet first day, we were enjoying ourselves. Jeffry wasn’t sold on the city when we first arrived, but by the end of the day, he was ready to move there 😉

Leave a Reply

