Back in the Game

Posted: 5 March 2011 in Thoughts

It has been a while since last I posted and life has been quite chaotic. In a matter of weeks, I crossed 14 timezones and have now situated myself in the northern regions of Utah. Not the most ideal of places, but it is where I feel I am needing to be.

Leaving Thailand went better than expected but I still miss it terribly. I love and miss my kids so much. I was excited to get back to England, but it turned into a stressful and mostly unpleasant experience. I was bounced from place to place and had difficulties getting things back with me. Don’t get me wrong, it was exciting to see Dane, the Green’s, my Jester’s, etc, but I felt like a burden on people despite their saying I wasn’t.

So that leads into my arrival in the states. It was and still kind of is strange being back. I miss England so much. Somehow things were so much simpler there. And I don’t mean with personal issues, but life. I didn’t need a car to get everywhere, grocery shopping wasn’t so much an issue, and so on. Now I’m happy to see friends and family, but I fit in there more than I do here. Oh well. No point in whinging about it. I’m here now trying to make best with what I’ve been given. And so far things have gone well.

I am living with some friends in Syracuse (albeit only for the next month), working at Mikado’s (a Japanese sushi restaurant) and have a car (a 2010 Kia Rio LX). That is wonderful and I am very happy about all that; I just am now preemptively stressing about money issues as mid-April I need to find a place closer to work (in Sandy) and most of my student loans are now almost in repayment and I have no idea how I shall be able to pay them. I know I need to just chill out and see how things go for the moment and if necessary, I’ll get a second job at the beginning of April.

It also is giving me the added drive to finish my book and get it up on Amazon. I am working on the second draft and am currently on chapter 2. It needs quite a bit of work (chapter 2, not the whole thing) as there is a lot of stuff in it I am wondering about the relevance of. It is coming along nicely and I am hoping to have it done in the next month or two.

So now that I have a lot more time on my hands, I am going to be utilising all my time to writing, whether it be on revising my dissertation, the drafting of my book, or this blog. I shall consume my life with my love, writing. For this blog I am going to be focusing primarily on why I started it, to detail my travels. As I have been many places and have had many crazy experiences, I am going to be focusing on single experiences rather than collective journeys. When pictures are available, I shall post a picture or two and go from there. If I don’t then, I have will have a few epic blogs and what fun is that. Of course I will add the random book review, thought or other blog to break the monotony of only travel dialogue.

Hope you enjoy as I get myself back in the game 😉

Leave a Reply

