The Beginning

Posted: 27 September 2010 in Travel

So this is the beginning of my epic journey into the world of blogging. Here I shall document the crazy antics of my life including, and not exclusive to, the weird food I eat and have eaten, places I have travelled, people I have met, tips for making the most of certain destinations and whatever else comes to mind.

As an introduction, I should like to give a quick introduction of myself. My name is Christopher Everett Tracy and was born in the somewhat exotic location of Adak, Alaska located on Adak Island of the Aleutian Island chain. I am a navy brat which thankfully only lasted a few years. I have no idea how I would have handled moving every few years or so. But I assume I would have dealt with it as most others have done: probably cry a lot because of missing my friends and then make new ones and be happy in the new location. I have two sisters, one older and one younger, and four step-brothers. My sisters and I grew up with our parents in St. George, Utah. While the city is not my ideal location for anything of value (other than my family), the surrounding landscape is something of a treasure. Zion’s National Park, Bryce Canyon, the Grand Canyon and Arches National Park are just a few of the amazing vacation destinations close to where I grew up. While the accessibility of places like Zion’s has altered some, the beauty of the places always amazes me.

Being a child of divorced parents, as well as having a father in the navy, my younger sister and I got to see different parts of the Western United States. I believe it was this that created some sense of desire to see new places and voyage to exotic destinations. With grandparents living in Utah, Arizona and Colorado, cousins in Nevada and a dad in California, I got to see these places many times whilst growing up. But it was not until I was in High School that I really began travelling. I got to take a few trips to various parts of California for Choir, German Dancing and Marine Biology. The trips to San Francisco were my favourite of those trips as I got see the iconic structure of the Golden Gate bridge as well as walk across it. Amazing.

When I was 19 I served a mission for my church in the Germany, Frankfurt Mission. Any mormon returned missionary will say that their mission was by far the best but in truth, mine actually was. Not only was it the best two years of my life for personal reasons, it was a dream come true going to Germany. I love everything about Germany: the food, the people, the culture, everything. All you need to do is travel along the rivers (Rhine, Mosel, Neckar, etc.) and you will see so many amazing castles. Plus, if you look carefully, you will notice that the castles are usually built on a hill with a church located at the base of the slope.

After the mission I moved to Miami. Oh how I love Miami. Not only is it like living in a whole new country, it is a gateway to the Caribbean. While there I got to take a few short trips to Cancun and the Cayman Islands and a longer (terrifying) trip to Jamaica. Any of my friends who has heard the story of Jamaica remembers while terrifying at the time, it made for great story-telling after. There I got to make friends with so many Latinos and Latinas and so many others. It is seriously one of my favourite cities as well as where I consider home.

The last couple years since 2008 have been a mixture of living in Utah, England and my current location of Chiang Rai, Thailand. The stints in Utah were stopovers while I made my way to England. The first time there was to do my final semester abroad in Hull while the second time (now) was to get my Master’s. I have loved it there. I have gotten to see so many wonderful places such as: Paris, all over England, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Switzerland, Copenhagen, Spain and Israel. I have new love for Tel Aviv and Glasgow. Currently as I said, I am in Thailand and will be for the next four months. Then I am back to Leicester, UK to graduate.

Other than my travels, I am an avid musician and have been playing the piano for 21 years. I am a classical pianist. I also play the violin, have played the trumpet, various percussion and have and still need to learn the guitar. Being an English major I love to write and am currently working on the second draft of a novel I finished months ago. Haven’t had time as my dissertation was a beast (30000 words). Well that was about me. The next blogs will hopefully be more entertaining 😉

Comments
  1. Teresa says:

    Can’t wait to read about your adventures in Thailand! From the few pictures you have posted, it looks like a truely unique and beautiful place. Go out and have fun, do good, and meet amazing people!

    Like

  2. Kalinda says:

    You have had amazing adventures. It was fun reading about them. We miss you too, but I think your mom and sisters probably miss you most. : ) Have fun and be safe on your adventures.

    Like

  3. Erin says:

    Hey, bubba! I’m so excited you got a blog! I’ve subscribed to it and I’m so excited to hear about all of your adventures. I love you!

    Love,
    Little Sister

    Like

Leave a Reply

